UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal


Nepal has applied to UNESCO, the arm of the United Nations that promotes protection of cultural and natural heritage worldwide, to list nine more locations in the country as World Heritage Sites. Nepal already has 10 listed sites, seven of them in the Kathmandu Valley. UNESCO has ten criteria for the world heritage list, six applying to cultures living and dead and four for natural sites. For inclusion, nominated sites must have “outstanding universal value” and meet at least one of the ten criteria. There are currently 878 World Heritage Sites, and about three-quarters of the countries in the world have at least one site listed.

Nepal’s proposed additions are the medieval walled city of Lo Monthang in the Mustang region; the temple of Vajrajogini and the old town of Sankhu nearby; the medieval town of Tansen, with its enormous gate studded to protect against elephant attack; the old hilltop village of Kirtipur, near Kathmandu; and Nuwakot Palace, the retreat of the founder of the recently-expelled Shah dynasty. Also in the filing are the 12th century Ram Janaki temple, believed to be the birthplace of the Hindu goddess Sita, and the Rishikesh temple complex in southern Nepal, a pilgrimage site mentioned in Hindu scripture, and two sites in western Nepal dating to the Khasa kingdom, the Bhurti Temple Complex and the cultural remains in the Sinja Valley.

free wordpress themes download
Kathmandu Car Rental
Previous articlePlaces to See in Nepal
Next articleNepal General Information
Nepal Trekking is committed to bring the world's leading source of adventure and experiential travel and related sites, information, City guide and services. Challenge yourself mentally, physically and spiritually on a Nepal Trekking. Hike to the Mount Everest base camp enduring snow, high altitude and fatigue, or do the less arduous but without a doubt challenging Annapurna trail, Langtang trail. See the highflying prayer flags, contemplative monks and beautiful temples in Kathmandu valley and other beautiful places. We’ve got a range of Nepal Trekking to suit all budgets, durations and tour styles or you can be inspired by all the options. Travelling to Nepal is an arresting experience full of life-changing moments, if you have any question about Nepal Travel.. Please feel free to contact me on info@nepalvisitors.com . I will be happy to answer